Study Destinations
Bangladesh International Education Expo
Bangladesh International Education ExpoSouth Asia’s largest international higher education expo · Presented by Fair Convener
Study Destinations
Guide series


Study Destinations

Study in Poland from Bangladesh: costs, English tests and visa

Poland arrives in Dhaka conversations as the cheap European option. On the national average it is — but the average describes a country, not the programme you are applying to.


Warsaw University of Technology charges a non-EU student €6,510 a semester for its master’s in Data Science, which is €13,020 for the year. The University of Tartu, one country north, charges €7,200 a year for a master’s in computer science. Poland arrives in most Dhaka conversations as the cheap European option, and for that subject it is the expensive one.

On the national average it is cheap: NAWA’s official study portal puts a bachelor’s, master’s or long-cycle degree at around €2,000 a year. But an average describes a country, not a programme — on the same Warsaw campus that bills €7,090 a semester for architecture, aerospace engineering costs €2,490.

The money, at least, is knowable. Two harder things sit behind it: a language rule with no discretion in it, and a consulate that is not in this country.

The euro price and the taka price are different numbers. A Polish university quotes tuition in euros. The consulate that decides your visa charges in Indian rupees. The interior ministry’s entry threshold, the stamp duty and the residence card are all in złoty. Three currencies, three conversions, none at the rate on a currency website: your bank sells foreign exchange at its own rate and charges for the transfer, and a ten-instalment tuition plan crosses that spread ten times instead of once.

It is also the argument for comparing fees by the year. €6,510 a semester reads smaller on a brochure than €13,020 a year, and it is the same money: ৳18,61,860 of tuition alone, converting the euro at ৳143, an August 2026 approximation and not a quote. Your bank sells euros at its own rate and charges for the transfer, so read that as a floor.

Poland has no visa-issuing embassy in Dhaka

The consular district covering Bangladesh belongs to the Embassy of the Republic of Poland in New Delhi, which also handles Bhutan, the Maldives, Nepal and Sri Lanka. Your long-stay student visa is a national D visa, issued for up to one year. You register in e-konsulat, then submit documents at a VFS Global centre. Study-visa slots are released strictly in order of registration — New Delhi opens them Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday at 10:00, Mumbai on Wednesday at 10:30, once every two weeks.

Whether a Polish national visa can be lodged in Dhaka at all is the question every applicant asks and no official Polish page answers; the gov.pl pages for this region name only the Indian centres. Plan on travelling, budget the ticket and the days out of term, and confirm with New Delhi before you book. Once the file is in, a visa is issued or refused within 15 days, extendable to 30. That part is fast. Reaching the counter is not.

The fee stack, Dhaka to Kraków

  • National D visa: €200 from 1 January 2026, under the Foreign Minister’s regulation of 29 October 2025. New Delhi lists the tariff as INR 21,120. Not refunded if you are refused
  • Temporary residence permit: PLN 340 stamp duty plus PLN 100 for the card. Poland’s study portal prints PLN 390 as the total, so two official figures disagree; budget the higher
  • University application fee: the University of Warsaw charges PLN 85 per field of study for 2026/27, PLN 100 where an exam or interview applies
  • Insurance: travel medical cover of at least €30,000 for the whole stay — urgent medical assistance, emergency hospital treatment or death

The money you must show, and one figure nobody agrees on

Two separate tests, at two separate stages, and students prepare for only the first.

At the visa and entry stage, the Ministry of the Interior and Administration requires students, researchers and trainees to hold at least PLN 1,270 for the first two months of the planned stay, or the equivalent in another currency — about ৳43,000 at ৳34 to the złoty. Return-travel funds sit on top unless you hold a return ticket: PLN 200 for a neighbouring country, PLN 500 within the EU or EFTA, PLN 2,500 for everywhere else, the line Bangladesh falls under.

Proof can be a bank statement or certificate of funds issued within one month of the border crossing, traveller’s cheques, a credit-card limit certificate, a scholarship document, or the ticket itself. A statement printed in June will not carry you across the border in September. Our document checklist for Bangladeshi students sets out what the bank paperwork has to look like at the New Delhi counter.

At the residence-permit stage the test changes shape. Your monthly funds, after housing costs, must exceed the social-assistance income threshold, plus return-travel costs, plus tuition if you study on a fee-paying basis.

This is where the official pages fall out of step. Student-facing pages still print PLN 776 for a single person and PLN 600 for a person in a family; the social-assistance thresholds they track rose at the start of 2025 and not every page has caught up. Budget above the published figure, and settle the operative number with your voivodeship office while you are still choosing a flat.

Poland charges tuition, and the range is wide

Non-EU students pay at Polish public universities. This surprises applicants who have heard Poland described as free, which describes the EU rate, not yours.

NAWA’s portal gives €2,000 a year for bachelor’s, master’s and long-cycle programmes, €3,000 for postgraduate and specialist courses, and €2,000 for a preparatory Polish-language course. The stated range is €2,000 to €6,000 a year, with MBA programmes at €8,000 to €12,000. Institutions set their own fees, which by law cannot fall below the cost of running the programme.

Four groups pay nothing: Polish citizens, EU and EEA citizens, Karta Polaka holders, and full-time doctoral candidates, who also receive a scholarship. For a Bangladeshi applicant that last one is the only realistic door to a fully funded place.

Institution What a non-EU student pays Year
National average (NAWA) €2,000 a year, bachelor’s / master’s / long-cycle; €3,000 postgraduate and specialist; range €2,000–6,000 Current
University of Warsaw, interdisciplinary studies (WISP) PLN 27,600 a year (EU rate PLN 25,200), payable in 1, 2 or 10 instalments 2026/27
Warsaw University of Technology, M.Sc. in English €1,800–€8,000 per semester by programme. Architecture €7,090; Data Science €6,510; Environmental Engineering €3,000; Aerospace Engineering €2,490 2026/27
Jagiellonian University All international students pay. Published first-year fees for English-taught programmes run from PLN 16,000 to €15,500 (MD in English); your figure is in IRK Current

Price the programme, never the country. Set the total against what a first year abroad costs, then compare Poland with the UK.

The B2 rule, and the closed list

The legal basis is article 70(5f) of the Law on Higher Education and Science, inserted by the Act of 4 April 2025 on eliminating irregularities in the Polish visa system (Dz.U. 2025 poz. 622), in force since 1 July 2025. A non-EU applicant must prove B2 or higher in the language of instruction, Polish or foreign.

The certificates that satisfy it were fixed by regulation on 30 July 2025 (Dz.U. 2025 poz. 1045), whose Annex 2 sets the English list and the minimum scores. Duolingo does not appear on it, and neither does a letter from your college confirming that English was your medium of instruction, unless the diploma or its supplement says so in the terms the regulation accepts.

Test Minimum accepted
IELTS 5.5 or above
TOEFL iBT 72 or above, on the 0–120 scale the regulation is written in
PTE Academic, including online 59 or above
TOEIC 785 or above in Listening and Reading, plus 150 Speaking and 160 Writing
Cambridge ESOL B2 First, C1 Advanced, C2 Proficiency, B2 Business Vantage, C1 Business Higher, CEIBT
Also on the annex Trinity, LanguageCert, Pearson English International Certificate, ECL, telc and LCCI certificates, each at B2 or higher

The annex also accepts evidence that is not a test: a diploma, supplement or certificate naming English as the language of instruction; a philology or applied-linguistics degree covering at least 500 hours of the language; an IB Diploma for its primary language; a European Baccalaureate at L1 or L2; a sworn translator’s certificate; and a preparatory course of at least nine months under article 60(4) of the Act on Foreigners.

Your TOEFL certificate and the regulation are now on different scales

ETS moved TOEFL to a 1–6 scale on 21 January 2026, in half-band steps, with the total reported as the average of the four sections rather than their sum. A Bangladeshi who sits the test this month gets a band. The Polish regulation still asks for “co najmniej 72 pkt”, carries no 1–6 figure anywhere, and has not been amended since it came into force on 1 August 2025.

The gap is bridged for now, and by ETS rather than by Poland. ETS prints a comparable 0–120 total on score reports for two years from the change, so the statutory 72 stays usable until roughly January 2028. Its alignment puts CEFR B2 at bands 4.5 and 4.0, and band 4.0’s range opens at exactly 72 — which makes 4.0 the statutory floor, on ETS’s reading of its own scale. The legal test underneath both numbers is B2, and that has not moved.

Polish institutions are split on saying so. Warsaw University of Technology publishes both, “TOEFL iBT – minimum 87 points (previous scale) / 4.5 points (new scale)”, and both figures sit above the regulation’s floor, as does its IELTS requirement of 6.0. The University of Warsaw’s 2026/27 page, the Jagiellonian, AGH and Wrocław University of Science and Technology still print 72 alone. No Polish university and no ministry has published a 1–6 equivalent for the statutory threshold, or said what it will accept once ETS stops printing comparable totals. Where a programme page prints one scale only, make admissions name the band it treats as B2 for your intake, and keep the reply.

One more warning: the Minister’s communiqué of 13 August 2025 states plainly that a consulate may verify your language competence independently during the visa procedure, whatever your university accepted. Check your score against the statutory list, not a marketing page, then book the sitting — the guide to IELTS, PTE and TOEFL centres in Bangladesh covers where.

After you land: the residence permit

The D visa gets you in. Staying means applying to the voivode of your province for a temporary residence permit for the purpose of studies, which comes with a residence card, the karta pobytu.

  • First permit: 15 months, or, where the studies justify a shorter stay, the academic year plus three months
  • Subsequent permits: the period of studies plus three months, up to a maximum of three years
  • Decision time: a complete application should be handled within 60 days

Poland also runs a separate temporary residence permit for graduates; read the Office for Foreigners’ conditions rather than what an agent tells you a degree entitles you to.

Work during study: no hour cap, and one condition that decides everything

Poland sets no limit on how many hours a student works. No weekly cap appears in the Act, none in the regulation granting the exemption, and the government’s study portal says it outright: “There are no restrictions on that, not like in the other countries.” The EU Immigration Portal lists Poland’s allowed working hours as “Not specified”. What decides your case is which document you hold and where you are enrolled.

A temporary residence permit for studies carries free access to the labour market by statute. The Act of 20 March 2025 on entrusting work to foreigners (Dz.U. 2025 poz. 621) lists the article 144 study permit among the titles giving swobodny dostęp do rynku pracy, and the residence card issued with it carries the annotation dostęp do rynku pracy beside student. No work permit, no employer declaration, nothing to count.

A national D visa is not on that statutory list, and this is where the past year’s real change sits. Visa holders depend on a ministerial regulation, and it was replaced on 1 December 2025. The new text (Dz.U. 2025 poz. 1620) gives the exemption to a student of studia stacjonarne — full-time study — at an institution the Minister of the Interior has approved for admitting foreign students, or one exempt from that approval and not banned from admitting them. Two transitional windows softened the switch; both closed in 2026, on 31 May and 30 June.

That condition sorts Polish institutions into two groups. Public academic universities, military and state-service academies, church-run universities covered by an international agreement or a statute, research institutes and Polish Academy of Sciences institutes need no approval — Warsaw, the Jagiellonian, AGH and Wrocław sit inside it. Private universities and public vocational universities sit outside. They need a live approval decision, and the interior ministry publishes the list of approved institutions. Part-time and evening study, studia niestacjonarne, is outside the exemption anywhere: the labour ministry’s Zielona Linia answers that with a flat refusal.

One consequence sits between two provisions and is stated by neither. The approval that gates the work exemption also gates the study residence permit under article 144. Read side by side, the two texts leave a student at an unapproved private university with neither route open — no permit, and no lawful work on the visa. No official Polish page says that in those words. Check your named university against the ministry’s list at offer stage, and treat an agent’s assurance as unverified.

Two footnotes. A placement forming part of your degree programme is exempt whatever else applies. And Poland’s study portal still describes the exemption as covering any full-time student with a visa or a permit, with no mention of the institution condition; it has not been updated since the regulation changed. For the caps elsewhere, see the part-time work rules guide.

What a Polish visa does not give you

Families read “EU” and picture free movement, and someone always raises weekend work in Berlin. A Polish national visa does not let you reside in other Schengen states beyond the standard 90 days in any 180, and a Polish temporary residence permit does not let you work in other Schengen territories. The permit is Polish. So is the job market attached to it. What the label EU does and does not buy elsewhere is set out in the Europe-wide guide for Bangladeshi students.

Common mistakes

  • Booking a Duolingo test, or any certificate absent from the statutory Annex 2 list
  • Sitting IELTS for a 5.0 when the statutory floor is 5.5, and the university’s own floor may be 6.0
  • Reading a TOEFL requirement without checking which of the two scales the page was written in
  • Taking a job on a D visa while enrolled at a private university the interior ministry has not approved
  • Assuming the visa can be applied for in Dhaka, and losing weeks discovering otherwise
  • Budgeting the PLN 1,270 living requirement and forgetting the PLN 2,500 return-travel line

Polish institutions recruit in Bangladesh through agents more often than in person, so verify anyone offering to file for you. How to verify a consultancy in Bangladesh sets out the checks — and any agent still calling Duolingo acceptable for Poland has told you what you need to know.

Frequently asked questions

Which consulate decides a Polish student visa from Bangladesh?

The Embassy of the Republic of Poland in New Delhi, whose consular district covers Bangladesh along with Bhutan, the Maldives, Nepal and Sri Lanka. You register in e-konsulat and submit at a VFS Global centre. No official Polish page confirms that a D visa can be lodged in Dhaka, so plan on travelling.

Will a Duolingo English Test get me into a Polish university?

No. The accepted certificates were fixed by regulation on 30 July 2025 and Duolingo is absent from Annex 2. The floors are IELTS 5.5, TOEFL iBT 72, PTE Academic 59, and TOEIC 785 in Listening and Reading with 150 Speaking and 160 Writing, with Cambridge, Trinity, LanguageCert, Pearson, ECL, telc and LCCI at B2. That TOEFL figure is on the pre-2026 scale; ETS’s alignment puts band 4.0 at 72 and above. Warsaw University of Technology asks for more: IELTS 6.0 and TOEFL 87, or 4.5 on the new scale.

How much is the Polish student visa fee now?

€200 for a national D visa from 1 January 2026, set by the Foreign Minister’s regulation of 29 October 2025. It replaced the €135 fee that had applied since 1 June 2024. The New Delhi consular tariff lists it as INR 21,120, and it is not refunded if you are refused.

Is a Polish public university free for a Bangladeshi student?

Only four groups study free: Polish citizens, EU and EEA citizens, Karta Polaka holders and full-time doctoral candidates, who also receive a scholarship. The average is around €2,000 a year, the stated range €2,000 to €6,000, and programmes run well past it — Warsaw University of Technology publishes €7,090 a semester for architecture.

Is PLN 1,270 the whole financial requirement?

It is the first half of it. PLN 1,270 covers your first two months at the visa and entry stage, and PLN 2,500 in return-travel funds sits on top unless you hold a return ticket. At the residence-permit stage the test changes shape: monthly funds after housing must exceed the social-assistance threshold, plus travel costs, plus tuition — on figures that lag a 2025 increase, so confirm the operative number with your voivodeship office.

Can I work in Poland on a student visa?

There is no hour cap either way, but the route differs. A temporary residence permit for studies gives free access to the labour market by statute, annotated on the residence card. A national D visa depends on a ministerial regulation replaced on 1 December 2025, which grants the exemption only to full-time students at institutions the Minister of the Interior has approved or exempted. Public academic universities are inside; private and public vocational universities need a live approval decision. Part-time and evening students are excluded outright.

Sources

  1. Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Republic of PolandEmbassy and consulates, India (consular district covering Bangladesh, Bhutan, the Maldives, Nepal and Sri Lanka)
  2. Embassy of Poland, New DelhiD-type national visa (issued for up to one year; e-konsulat registration and VFS Global submission; New Delhi and Mumbai slot release times; decision within 15 days, extendable to 30; travel medical insurance of at least €30,000)
  3. NAWA / study.gov.plVisa application (national visa then temporary residence permit; PLN 390 quoted for the permit) and Tuition fees (€2,000 a year average; €3,000 postgraduate; €2,000–6,000 range; MBA €8,000–12,000; fees cannot be lower than the cost of education; exempt groups)
  4. Ministry of Foreign AffairsNew consular fees from 1 January 2026 (“200 EUR – for the acceptance and processing of a national visa application, including reprocessing”; Regulation of the Minister of Foreign Affairs of 29 October 2025)
  5. Ministry of Foreign AffairsIncrease in national visa fees (the €135 national visa fee, from 1 June 2024; this page carries no reference to the 2026 increase)
  6. Embassy of Poland, New DelhiConsular fees (INR 21,120 for a national visa, effective 1 January 2026)
  7. Ministry of the Interior and AdministrationEntry and residence conditions for foreign nationals (PLN 1,270 for the first two months for students, researchers and trainees; return-travel funds of PLN 200 / PLN 500 / PLN 2,500)
  8. Ministry of Foreign AffairsFinancial resources required to enter Poland on a D-type national visa (bank statement issued within one month of the border crossing, traveller’s cheques, credit-card limit certificate, scholarship document, return ticket)
  9. European Commission, EU Immigration PortalStudent, Poland (first permit of 15 months or academic year plus three months; subsequent permits of studies plus three months to a maximum of three years; PLN 340 stamp duty plus PLN 100 residence card; PLN 776 and PLN 600 income figures; working hours “Not specified”; Schengen residence and work limits. Last updated 16 September 2025, so it predates the work regulation of 20 November 2025)
  10. Office for Foreigners (UDSC)Permit for temporary residence: graduate
  11. Ministry of Science and Higher EducationCommuniqué on the Act of 4 April 2025 (article 70(5f); B2 requirement for non-EU applicants in force from 1 July 2025; Dz.U. 2025 poz. 622)
  12. Minister of Science and Higher EducationCommuniqué on rules for recruiting foreigners, 13 August 2025 (how universities verify language; consulates may verify independently during the visa procedure)
  13. Journal of Laws (Dziennik Ustaw)Regulation of 30 July 2025, Dz.U. 2025 poz. 1045 (PDF), listed at ISAP (Annex 2: IELTS 5.5, TOEFL iBT 72, PTE Academic 59, TOEIC and the rest, plus the non-test alternatives; in force 1 August 2025, unamended)
  14. ETSTOEFL iBT score scale update (1–6 scale in half-band steps from January 2026; comparable 0–120 scores on reports for two years; concordance placing band 4 at 72 and above; CEFR alignment placing B2 at bands 4 and 4.5)
  15. Warsaw University of TechnologyEnglish proficiency (“TOEFL iBT – minimum 87 points (previous scale) / 4.5 points (new scale)”; IELTS Academic minimum 6) and M.Sc. offer (€1,800–8,000 per semester, 2026/27; Architecture €7,090, Data Science €6,510, Environmental Engineering €3,000, Aerospace Engineering €2,490)
  16. University of WarsawLanguage competence, 2026/27 (TOEFL iBT minimum 72, IELTS 5.5, no new-scale figure), WISP payments (PLN 27,600 a year for non-EU students, 2026/27; EU rate PLN 25,200) and Application and tuition fees (PLN 85 per field of study, PLN 100 with an exam or interview)
  17. Jagiellonian UniversityKnowledge of language (TOEFL iBT at least 72, IELTS at least 5.5, citing the regulation of 30 July 2025) and Fees for international students (fee-paying basis; studies in English “from PLN 16,000 (Environmental Protection and Management) to EUR 15,500 (MD program in English) for the first year of studies”; per-programme amounts in IRK)
  18. Journal of Laws / ISAPAct of 20 March 2025 on the conditions for entrusting work to foreigners, Dz.U. 2025 poz. 621 (article 3(1)(14): free access to the labour market for holders of the article 144 study permit) and Act on Foreigners, consolidated text Dz.U. 2025 poz. 1079 (article 144, the study permit and the ministerial approval condition; article 244, the “student” and “access to the labour market” card annotations)
  19. Journal of Laws / ISAPRegulation of the Minister of Family, Labour and Social Policy of 20 November 2025, Dz.U. 2025 poz. 1620 (in force 1 December 2025; §1(12) full-time study at an approved or approval-exempt institution; §1(13) programme placements; transitional periods ending 31 May and 30 June 2026)
  20. Ministry of the Interior and AdministrationApproval of institutions for the admission of foreign nationals (the published list of approved institutions and the 30 June 2026 deadline for non-public academic universities)
  21. NAWA / study.gov.plWork and internships (“There are no restrictions on that”; full-time students with a visa or permit need no work permit — stated without the institution condition introduced in December 2025)
  22. Zielona Linia (Ministry of Family, Labour and Social Policy)Foreign students and the work permit (full-time study at an approved or exempt institution; part-time and evening students not exempt; branch campuses covered by the parent institution’s approval). Informational only, not a binding interpretation
  23. University of TartuMSc Computer Science (€7,200 a year for non-EU and non-EEA citizens)
  24. Ministry of Foreign Affairse-konsulat (visa registration system)

Checked in August 2026; the taka conversions are illustrative, at the rate named above. Of everything on this page, the interior ministry’s register of institutions approved to admit foreign students has the shortest shelf life: a private university can drop off it, and a D visa holder’s right to work goes with it. That is the Polish pattern. Cheap on the national average and expensive on particular programmes; unlimited on working hours and conditional on where you are enrolled. Not one of those answers is set nationally; each of them attaches to the institution whose name is on your offer letter.

Ask the universities themselves, in one hall

65th Bangladesh International Education Expo · 26–28 November 2026 · ICCB, Dhaka. Free entry — bring this page and put its questions to the stall.

Register Free →

Bangladesh International Education Expo — 65th edition, 26–28 November 2026
International Convention City Bashundhara (ICCB), Bashundhara, Dhaka, Bangladesh · Free entry
Register app.fairconvener.com
Email info@bangladeshinternationaleducationexpo.com
Web bangladeshinternationaleducationexpo.com
Source: https://bangladeshinternationaleducationexpo.com/study-in-poland-from-bangladesh/
Published 30 August 2026. Printed . Rules and fees cited in this document change periodically — verify against the official sources listed before acting. © 2026 Bangladesh International Education Expo.